Sign in to follow this  
AYOUB

A French academic questions Somaliland's academic freedom and respect for the constit

AYOUB   

Awdalnews Network, 10 Sept. 2005.

A French academic who was expelled from Somaliland at the orders of Somaliland's strong Interior Minister explains his case in a letter he addressed to one of Somaliland’s newspapers a copy of which had been obtained by Awdalnews Network. Following is the full text of Mr. Roland Marchal's letter:

Dear Sir,

On 31 August 2005, I was asked by Somaliland immigration officers to leave Somaliland by 1 pm that day. I had been in Somaliland for 6 days legally and my original travel plans were to go to Nairobi the following day; just 18 hours hence. I was not a new face in Somaliland. I have been visiting Somaliland since 1993, sometimes as a guest of the Somaliland government and sometimes as a consultant for various companies and organizations including the World Bank, UNDP, EC and the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs.