Sign in to follow this  
N.O.R.F

I used to be a book burner - Inayat Bunglawala

N.O.R.F   

I used to be a book burner

But when I think about Salman Rushdie now, I believe the freedom to offend is a necessary freedom.

Not surprisingly, the awarding of a knighthood to Salman Rushdie has reignited the controversy over the 1988 publication of his book, The Satanic Verses. Pakistan and Iran have already witnessed angry condemnations of the author and popular protests. With memories of last year's Danish cartoon row still fresh, there are understandable concerns that the situation could dramatically escalate around the world.

When The Satanic Verses was first published, I was a second year student at Queen Mary College in London. I had started becoming a more observant Muslim just over a year earlier and had begun attending Islamic talks across London. For many young Muslim students at the time the situation was fairly straightforward. The Thatcher government had banned Peter Wright's Spycatcher and had gone to court to prevent its distribution. Surely, Rushdie's novel, which had caused such offence to hundreds of millions of believers, deserved a similar fate? I remember being rather puzzled as to why Rushdie's defenders were so vigorous in arguing for the right to offend Muslims. Muslims were not writing books making fun of Christ and other revered religious figures. It seemed to be a deliberate attempt to mock deeply held beliefs.

We were a tiny minority and in the mainstream British newspapers had no voice whatsoever, while our detractors had column after column of newsprint to disparage us and our "backward" ways. We were utterly powerless.